WHY I WRITE

The prompt for Day One is:  Why I Write?

I write because I enjoy it so much and things seem to pop into my head as I am writing.  Things which I did not even know where in there and sometimes surprise even me.  I feel lighter after writing as though I have gotten something off my mind that needed to be put down in written form.  Even if I am not going to use the writings for anything, at least at that time, just the act of writing is comforting and relaxing.

It seems that after I have written something, it stays with me and I will go back at a later date and use something I have written in a poem or story,  I always have several tablets for my “Morning Notes, as I call them even though it is not always in the morning that I write.

Although, the morning is the best time for me to write.  The words seem to fly from my mind onto the page in the morning. My mind is  less cluttered before the cares of the day intrude and carry me off in so many different directions.

I, of course, have a cup of tea nearby to warm and comfort me as I am writing.  It just wouldn’t be the same without my steaming cup of tea.  And last, I write because as Sylvia Plath said, “I have a voice within me that will not be still.”

6 thoughts on “WHY I WRITE

  1. I have found it is the exhilaration of creating that so satisfies more than hoping to be published.
    “Comforting and relaxing” are good words you used to justify writing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

