AN ELEGY TO COFFEE

Coffee Mug
Coffee Mug

 

An Elegy to Coffee

I loved it so during my youth

But I certainly have to tell the truth

It made my life happy for a while

Until the day I forgot to smile

Now I can not have it evermore

The aroma, the flavor, the taste galore

The cries and the moans do no good

I’d love to have it if only I could

But if I did, my belly would ache

So I have to renege, for my own sake.

Thought I’d try the elegiac couplets here.

Let me know what you think.

18 thoughts on “AN ELEGY TO COFFEE

  1. Okay, I’ll tell you what I think. I think it is quite cute and excellent rhyme and beat (I said beat because I don’t know how to spell rhythm). Just joking! Excellent rhyme and rhythm.

    Like

Leave a Reply

