Recreate a Single Day

LADY
LADY

On Writing 101 we were asked to recreate a single day for today’s Post. Sounds simpler than it is to do. But here goes.

A DAY IN THE LIFE

After my cat, Lady greets me with a paw in the face, I struggle to get out of bed. Every morning is a struggle, the older I get, the more I struggle. The first thing is the bathroom where Lady directs me, in case I did not know the way. I do my business and splash water in my face and start to feel a little better. Maybe I will survive until I get to the kitchen, where I will put the kettle on for tea. Green tea of course. For the past few years, green tea has been my staple drink, for many reasons, not the least of which is that it is healthy for you.

There are so many different kinds of green tea out there, that I feel I have to get a new kind each time I go to the store. Pretty soon there won’t be enough room on the shelve for all the tea. There is green with white, green with jasmine, green with lemon and on and on. Once the water is boiled and the tea is steeped for the appropriate time, I make toast and put some almond butter and maybe a touch of orange marmalade on it. Sugarless of course as I am diabetic.

Most things I buy anymore are sugarless and there is a big selection. Not so in my mother’s day. They only had a few things you could find that were sugarless. You had to make your own whatever, if you wanted it; I sometimes made a sugarless cheesecake for my mother as she was diabetic also. Diabetes runs in our family and my grandmother, my mother, my sister and I all had/have it. Hopefully, it will not go any further and none of my daughters will get it.

After breakfast I sit down at the computer and the rest is history. I admit I waste time on the computer. I am guilty of reading several articles before I get down to the business of writing a Post. I need to limit my time on the computer because I have many other things I should be doing, like taking a walk, making the bed, taking a shower or even going for coffee. Lady tries to distract me by getting on my lap and it does interfere with my typing. She is a restless lap sitter, getting up and standing and moving around until I make her sit down or get down. After a bit of that, I will get up and start doing some of the things I have been putting off.

Been thinking of doing some painting again, another thing I have been procrastinating with. Always something else to distract me from getting out the paints and canvas. Pretty sure I will be painting soon because I usually get the urge around this time of year. Believe it or not I act on it then, in the Fall into Winter. The electricity in the air stimulates me and also the possibility of a rain storm. Maybe I will even finish that novel I’ve been working on for years. I can hear you all saying, “Un huh.”

After dinner, I usually end the day with a movie from Netflix and there is a big selection. When I pick one out, Lady and I settle in on my recliner to watch for a few hours, until it is time to toddle off to bed, book in hand. I drift off to sleep, looking forward to a new day…….

4 thoughts on “Recreate a Single Day

  1. I drink mainly camomile and ginger tea, but I noticed last night that the ginger one has some green tea in it, which I was pleased about. It’s supposed to be healthy but I didn’t think I liked green tea!

    Like

Leave a Reply

