Open Letter to My Cat Merlin

Merlin my Muse
Merlin my Muse

This letter is to my cat of fifteen years, Merlin. He passed on six months ago and I
am still in mourning for him. I will probably always be. He had cancer
which I only found out the week before he died and he went fast. But while he was with me
I enjoyed every minute of our time together. He was always getting into some kind of mischief
and hiding and challenging me to find him. Then when I found him, he would jump out surprising
me every time. I never laughed so much at the things he would do. I know he wouldn’t be able to
read this letter but I know he will know how I feel about him.

Dear Merlin,

Thank you for our time together! I loved every minute of it, even though you were constantly
getting into something, including teasing your sister “Lady,” who I am sure misses you almost
as much as I do. Every day without you is just a little dimmer than when you were with us.
I know you are happy wherever you are and that I will see you again, when my turn comes.
So until then, I have Lady, who does her utmost to keep me happy.

Hope you are running around in the grass and trees, chasing mice and birds and being happy.
Until we meet again….

13 thoughts on “Open Letter to My Cat Merlin

  1. Oh, Marion. Thank you. beautiful. I miss my Monkey. He looked like Merlin. He was loved like Merlin. I am sure he reads just fine and with joy your beautiful letter. What a blessing to have our lives enriched by the completely full and realized personalities of four legged family members.

    Like

    1. Sorry so late with reply but your comment was in the spam area for some reason. What a beautiful sentiment, thank you so much. I am sure we will see our beloved pets again.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. If you are a cat lover you love all cats, but sometimes you find one that is extra special. I had a special cat in my life that died just over a year ago. He was less than four years old, and I considered using this assignment to write to him. In the end I did something comppletely different to this. It was fun, and I need fun…
    This is a great post. It brought a tear to my eye. I feel for you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

