THE GIRL IN THE WOODS

GIRL IN WOODS
GIRL IN WOODS

I picked this picture of a girl in the woods from the pictures on Upsplash.  They have an unlimited variety of pictures and they are all great, plus they are free.  It took a bit of time to get the picture saved and onto the Media Library, but here it is.

This picture struck a chord with me as my mother used to take us for walks in the woods when we were in grade school.  Sometimes on these walks we would pick huckleberries, or as we now know them, blueberries.  We ate most of them on our walk back home but mother would remind us that if we ate all of them, she could not make a blueberry pie when we returned home.  So usually we restrained ourselves because we loved her blueberry pie!

Later when I was in high school, myself and one or more of my girlfriends would walk through the woods to the reservoir to go swimming.  I did not know how to swim at the time and had a few close calls.  One time, which I will never forget, I literally got in over my head and was rescued by one of my male friends from school.  I was never so happy to see anyone in my life.

So the woods are a special place for me even though I now live near the ocean, which I also love.

 

4 thoughts on “THE GIRL IN THE WOODS

  1. I have very limited experience in woods; however, I’ve always been drawn to them because of “The Little Girl in the Limberlost.” Gene Straton Porter? I think so. I don’t remember the story but I remember loving the book.

    Like

    1. There is something magical about the woods. It has a certain smell that I can always relate to. Reminds me of home. I don’t know the book you refer to but nice that you have those memories. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

