WHY DO I WRITE?

 

Lady
Lady

This is for the prompt for Writing 101 Commons, which is:  Why do I write?

I write because I feel better when I am writing and I could most times go on and on forever once I get started.  Of course there is that time when the blank page just stares at me in all its whiteness and dares me to put a word down!

I have developed a habit of doing what is called Morning Notes.  It is an idea from a book called, “The Artist’s Way.”  I purchased the book many years ago.  And while I do not follow all the instructions in the book, which are many and interesting, I have continued (mostly) on a regular basis with the ‘morning notes.’

You are supposed to free write first thing in the morning which I do with a cup of tea nearby which seems to help the writing process.  Mostly green tea.  It seems your mind is more open after just awakening and the thoughts flow more easily.  I have found this to be true because I have tried to do the notes in the afternoon and the writings do not flow as easily.  So even though I am not a morning person, I strive to do my writing in the morning.

It seems I get all the garbage out first, mostly what I had been worrying about the day before either heavy or minute details that bog us all down.  Once that’s out-of-the-way, I find myself actually writing creatively and I have mined quite a few ideas for stories.  In fact I have begun some stories, that I would go on to complete and then blog about.

Guess I have not answered why I write after all but let me just say, I write because I feel much better both while writing and after finishing writing.  Even if I do not get any ideas for a story or a story itself, I enjoy the actual writing process.  I have recently started setting the clock for one hour and I write non- stop for that hour, sometimes with my cat, Lady, sleeping on my lap.  I have to admit that I do not get around to writing every day, although I strive to do so.

Once I start writing, I have found that I am loath to stop even after the hour is up and I found myself writing for an extra half hour yesterday, finishing a story I started halfway before the hour was up.  Not sure I will be publishing the story, at least in its present form but I do have that option, to publish or not, as some of my writing is strictly for myself.  As I am sure we can all relate.

17 thoughts on “WHY DO I WRITE?

      1. Maybe, maybe not. It possibly depends upon your nature and your experiences in life.
        Unfortunately I never learned to be cautious. My carelessness didn’t do me much good until I began blogging. I trust my friends on WordPress, and they strengthen me.

        Like

  1. For awhile I’d say I write because I can’t write, but lately I realize that I am a story teller and I write to tell stories. I do free writing from time to time, but haven’t been able to maintain a discipline for daily morning pages.

    Like

    1. It took me a while to get into the habit of writing every morning and of course I do miss some days still. But I realize I really enjoy the time writing and my cat also enjoys the lap time.
      Thanks for the comments.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I am glad to read about someone who is enjoying Julia Cameron’s book. I really love her approach to getting “unblocked” creatively. The book helped me quite a bit, but I think what I’ve benefited from most is blogging. I started The Accidental Poet in December, just before my father died. The Writing 101 assignments helped me establish discipline about writing every day. I write because if I don’t then I can’t get at the thoughts and ideas in my head. Writing, for me, is art. It is therapy. It is communication. It is meditation.

    Like

    1. So beautifully put and spot on. I must say I also have gotten a lot out of the blogging and the classes have helped so much. Thanks for comments. Sorry about your father.

      Like

  3. You mentioned writing in the mornings, and I was reminded of a post I’d written a few years ago that I still identify with: http://cherilucasrowlands.com/2013/01/19/26-hours/ I tend to write best really early in the morning, pre-coffee and still fuzzy.

    I also identify with free-writing to “get the garbage out first.” I realize that when I let go, perhaps even give up, and tell myself I’m not going to try hard, that’s when I’m able to sift past the “garbage” and write what’s really on my mind. (I mentioned her in today’s prompt, but Natalie Goldberg is one of my favorite writers for this kind of free-writing inspiration.)

    Thanks for joining the course this month!

    Like

    1. Read your post 26 hours and it struck a cord. It is what I constantly strive for, that certain time. I have no excuse for not having the time but some days are better than others for writing.
      I will check out Natalie Goldberg.
      I am already enjoying the class. Thanks for the comments.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. She is a big proponent that writing is a form of medication. I fact she teaches Zen meditation classes along with relaxation. Of course, Julia Cameron has “The Artist’s Way” and “Finding Water” (a sort of sequel companion book.).

        Like

Leave a Reply

