STREAM OF CONSCIOUSNESS

MEDITATION

This is a writing prompt from one of the classes I have been taking during these past few months, going into years.  It was in my archives, so I thought I would post it again to see what response I would get.  Hope you enjoy it.

Our prompt for today is to write for twenty minutes anything that comes into your mind.  A stream of consciousness.  So I set the clock and here is what came out:

I am sitting on my favorite chair, a big recliner with my cat, Lady, on my lap.  I usually do morning notes (not every morning) and it is interesting what comes out when I go back over the notes at a later date.  I got the idea for the morning notes from a favorite book of mine, “The Artist’s Way,” by Julia Cameron.  Julia says the book is “A Spiritual Path to Higher Creativity.”  I have certainly gotten a lot out of the book.

Some of the ideas I have from doing the exercises in the book such as, the morning notes and the Artist’s Date, I have used in the stories I have written and they occasionally find their way to my blog.

It’s usually best to do the notes first thing in the morning with a cup of coffee or a cup of tea.  I have a cup of green tea most mornings as I am doing now since the green tea is my favorite.  I like coffee but it sometimes causes me stomach pain.

I find that green tea with white tea combined is a really smooth drink.  I am taking a sip now.  It’s funny how when I finish the notes, the tea is finished also and it is time for another cup.

Glad to be in the Class again especially since it keeps me motivated to do some writing, if not every day, then most days a week.  And it is always interesting to read other classmates ideas and stories.  There are a lot of creative people in these classes and they are very helpful.

And another thing, the morning notes plus the classes keeps my brain working, thinking of new ideas of what to write about.

Also the photography class and the poetry class were very interesting.  I did not know I could write poetry and there I was doing poetry.  It made me feel good about myself to do something I never dreamed of doing.

I have expanded my horizons with all the classes and writings to such an extent that I feel as though I can go on writing indefinitely.  Not sure how good the writing is but I am enjoying the very act of writing so much that I look forward to it everyday.

So coming to a close here with two minutes to go, I can only say that I am really getting a lot out of these classes and hope to continue and improve as time goes on.

 

8 thoughts on “STREAM OF CONSCIOUSNESS

Leave a Reply

