O Captain, My Captain!

 

The Harbor with Sailboat
THE HARBOR

Oh Captain, My Captain

By Walt Whitman

(From Leaves Of Grass)

(Changes by Marion Glennon)

O Captain! My Captain! Your fearful trip is done,

Your soul has weathered every storm, the prize you sought is won,

The port is near, the bells you hear, the people all exulting,

While follow eyes the steady keel, the vessel grim and daring;

But O heart! heart! heart!

O the bleeding drops of red,

Where on the deck my Captain lies,

Fallen cold and dead.

The soul is anchored safe and sound, its voyage closed and done,

From fearful trip the victor soul comes in with object won;

Exult O shores and ring O bells!

But I with mournful tread,

Walk the deck my Captain lies,

Fallen cold and dead.

5 thoughts on “O Captain, My Captain!

Leave a Reply

