My Treasure was and is my Cat, Merlin

MERLIN

Merlin was and still is my Treasure!   Even though he passed away on March 13, 2015 he is still here with me in my heart.  I wrote this poem for him on Feb. 6, 2015 before I knew he was so sick.

MY CAT MERLIN

I picked him out of the litter

He seemed so easy going and

close to the Mother cat

When we got home, he was

a holy terror

Energy and activity personified

Knocking everything down that

was in his path

As he danced around the house

He jumped at feathers on a stick

and tried to get at birds through

the window

He’d run back and forth

from window to window

Watching people, birds and other

cats

While he was small he sat on my

shoulder and back of chair

And tickled my ear with his

nose

Many times he would curl up

in the crook of my arm on the couch

and when I moved

He would bite me

So many stories, so little time

He brought me happiness and I

loved him.

Leave a Reply

