To Merlin

Merlin looking out
Merlin looking out the window

 

Merlin came into my life when just a tiny kitten

He was wild and adorable from the beginning

He would race around the house from window to window

Knocking down anything in his path whatsoever

I would find lamps down and bulbs smashed to bits

If it happened to get in his way

He would sit on the window sill and watch

All the birds in the bushes outside

He’d meet me at the door when I came home

And walk me to the door when I left

He was only fourteen when he left me

Too young to be gone but then

I am so thankful for the time we did have

And I know I will see him again.

 

2 thoughts on “To Merlin

Leave a Reply

