A FEW POEMS BY AUTHORS I ADMIRE

Here are a few poems I picked out of “The Norton Anthology of Literature By Women.”  It’s a book that was required for the college class I was taking quite awhile ago.       I found two poems today that I had never read, by famous authors I have admired.  The punctuation is the authors or the editor’s.  The spacing also is not mine, as the posts are only set up for straight text and spacing.  Not sure how to go in and enter the code to change the spacing.

 

THE COURAGE THAT MY MOTHER HAD

by Edna St. Vincent Millay

The courage that my mother had

Went with her, and is with her still:

Rock from New England quarried;

Now granite in a granite hill.

The golden brooch my mother wore

She left behind for me to wear;

I have no thing I treasure more:

Yet, it is something I could spare.

Oh, if instead she’d left to me

The thing she took into the grave!

That courage like a rock, which she

Has no more need of, and I have.

425

By

Emily Dickinson

Good morning – Midnight –

I’m coming home –

Day-got tired of me –

How could I-of Him?

Sunshine was a sweet place-

I liked to stay-

But Morn-didn’t want me-now-

So-Goodnight-Day!

 I can look-can’t I-

When the East is Red?

The Hills-have a way–then

That puts the Heart-abroad-

You-are not so fair-Midnight-

I chose-Day-

But please-take a little Girl-

He turned away!

Leave a Reply

