Day 9 of NaBloPoMo

WHAT’S IN A NAME?

What if I had a different name.  I have thought about that from time to time.  But I always decided I liked the name I had, Marion.  It is kind of old fashioned I guess.  One doesn’t see many Marions around anymore.  You still see Marian and that is kinda cute and girly.  But Marion, not so much.  It gives off a masculine connotation or a ‘take charge person’ .  Which of course, I am.  But you do not realize that upon just meeting me. Or even after a few times in my presence.  But after awhile, it is pretty hard to miss. The take charge’ thing I mean.  My family will agree with that I am sure!

But there is a story that goes with the name when I was being christened.  In those days just the God parents took the baby to the church to be baptized.  Not like later, when the parents also accompanied the God parents and anyone else the family they wanted to invite.  And in either case there was a party at the house or the home of the parents of the baby being baptized.

Well when my God parents got to the church, they had forgotten what my name was supposed to be.  And phones were not as prevalent as they are now. So they were rattling off any name they could think of among themselves while the priest was cooling his heels and not too calmly I may add.  I had heard this story recounted many times in the years following.  In fact, it had become family lore and everyone got a big charge out of it.

The God parents pulled “Marion” out of the air, not being able to think of the right name and so Marion it was!  My Mother said she hit the roof when they got home and told her about the fiasco.  She told them the name was “Rita.”  And strangely enough the God mother’s name was Rita.  Double fiasco!  She was my Father’s sister and very young.  She didn’t turn out to be a very good God mother either.  I never got any presents and she never came to visit.  I never could have depended on her to make sure I took my Faith seriously.  Of course going to Catholic school, with the Nuns breathing down my neck constantly, should have been enough to keep me on the straight and narrow!

I can’t complain though, because I always liked my name.  I thought it was kind of unique, especially when I found out it also belonged to  John Marion Wayne, who was one of my favorite movie stars.

2 thoughts on “Day 9 of NaBloPoMo

Leave a Reply

