NaBloPoMo/2nd day of 30 day blog in November

Merlin the Mag XX

Introducing My Kitties Merlin and LadyIntroducing my kitties, Merlin on the left and Lady on the right.

They are brother and sister but I did not get them at the same time.

I got Merlin first since I had the pick of the litter.  Lady at that time was the ‘runt” of the litter and was so tiny that I almost took her cause she was so cute.  But Merlin stole my heart right from the start.  He was only eight weeks old when I brought him home and we bonded pretty quickly.  And although he was pretty frisky and got into a lot of trouble those first weeks and beyond, we managed to survive intact.

After getting him “fixed” he settled down and stopped breaking lights and vases and pretty much anything within his reach that he could knock over.  And most everything was within his reach being a cat!

After a few years we settled down into a routine and I was actually training him to sit, stay and some other commands and tricks like jumping in the air.  I think he thought for awhile he was a dog.  Unfortunately he began to eat things within his reach like a dog would do.  Like ribbons and wrappers from Balance bars, and pretty much anything that crinkled.  After a few anxious visits to the vet to keep him from choking on what he had swallowed, I, if not he, learned a lesson.   Did I mention it was also very expensive rushing him to the Vet at odd hours of the night.  Now, I have learned to keep everything that could be considered dangerous, out of his reach.

After three years of Merlin and my fun and games, the woman who had the original litter contacted me and said that Lady was up for adoption as her owner had taken ill and could not care for her.  And I had been thinking that Merlin should have a playmate.

I think I am going to have to continue this on the morrow as it is turning into a novel of sorts or at least a short story.  So, to be continued………

By the way it is only about 6pm here on the West Coast and also it is November 2nd, not the 3rd, as it is on the east Coast!!!

4 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo/2nd day of 30 day blog in November

    1. Thanks Janice for the like and the comment. Guess there’s a lot of us cat lovers out there. And yes you did get it right.

      Like

Leave a Reply

